Meet the least-serving minister in Ghana’s History under Akufo Addo’s Gov’t

Following her appointment and removal as Minister of Sanitation by President Akufo-Addo, Tano North MP Freda Prempeh made history.

In July 2023, Akufo-Addo named Madam Freda Prempeh as the new Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources. Prior to her appointment, she served as Minister of State.
On Saturday, July 22, 2023, the President accepted the resignation letter of Madam Cecilia Abena Dapaah, and Freda Prempeh assumed her position.

Freda Prempeh served as Ghana’s shortest-tenured sanitation minister and the minister under Akufo-Addo with the shortest term from July 2023 to February 14, 2024. She was replaced by Madam Lydia Seyram Alhassan.

 About Freda Akosua Prempeh

Freda Akosua Prempeh is a Ghanaian politician, and Member of Parliament in the Seventh Parliament and Eighth Parliament of the fourth republic of Ghana representing Tano North Constituency in the Ahafo Region, Ghana.

She is the immediate past Minister of State, Office of the President, and the Works and Housing Ministry. She is also a former Deputy Minister for Works and Housing, and Gender Children and Social Protection Ministry.

She graduated from the University of Ghana with a first degree in business administration. In addition to her master’s degrees in marketing, media, and public relations, Hon. Dr. Freda Prempeh received a doctorate in business administration in March 2021 from the Ghana Telecommunication University. On July 31, 1998, the Ghana Institute of Journalism awarded her the title of Best Student in Population Communication.

She was elected on the NPP ticket in 2012 to represent her electorate as the MP for Tano North in the Ahafo area, and she has served as their parliamentary representative for the past 11 years.

She is now sitting on the Standing Orders Committee, Education, Defense and Interior, and Government Assurances committees in Parliament, having previously served on the Communications, Local Government, Government Assurances, and Mines and Energy committees through her unwavering effort and dedication.



Show More
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *